New P+PB board members

The Paper and Packaging Board (P+PB) announced new officers and the election of six new members of the board. Officers for 2017 are Steve Voorhees (WestRock), Chairman; Christian Fischer (Georgia-Pacific), Vice-Chairman; and Jennifer Miller (Sappi North America), Secretary/Treasurer.

The six newly-elected members duly appointed by the Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack take office in 2017. Representing the South Region: Paul LeBlanc, of Packaging Corp. of America; Ronald Zimbelman, Hood Container Corp.; Fred A. Towler, International Paper; and James W. Morgan, Interstate Resources, Inc. Each appointee will serve a three-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2017 through Dec. 31, 2019. The Midwest Region representative is John W. Black Jr. of Appleton Coated, who will serve a two-year term beginning immediately through Dec. 31, 2018. The Importer seat is filled by Nina Happonen of Metsa Board Americas, whose term begins immediately and lasts through Dec. 31, 2017.

The 12-member board of directors oversees the paper and packaging sector’s national promotion program formed to increase the demand for paper and paper-based packaging products. “It’s an exciting time to be a part of this program. Our consumer campaign, Paper & Packaging – How Life Unfolds™, continues to receive positive feedback, and we are seeing measurable improvement in how those who see the advertising feel about and experience our products,” said incoming Board Chair and WestRock CEO Steve Voorhees. “Our new board members will help guide our work as we continue to increase appreciation for paper and paper-based packaging.”

New call-to-action

Join our Newsletter

Sign up to our weekly newsletters for updates on articles, interviews and events

Sign up