Corrugated Folding Carton

Greif’s Pete Watson named board chair

The American Forest & Paper Association(AF&PA) announced the election of Greif Inc. President & CEO Pete Watson as the new AF&PA Board Chair and released its 2019 slate of officers at its Winter Board of Directors Meeting in Washington on February 7.

“I am eager to partner with AF&PA’s leadership to advance 2019 advocacy priorities that will support our industry’s ability to grow the economy and create American manufacturing jobs,” said Watson. “A more resilient market-based paper recycling system, improved transportation infrastructure, free and fair trade, a competitive tax system, and regulatory reforms and process improvements top our list. All will set a stronger foundation for one of the largest manufacturing sectors in the nation to prosper as our companies apply sustainable manufacturing practices to make the products that improve everyday life.” 

Watson has been President and Chief Executive Officer of Greif Inc., since November 1, 2015, having previously served as Chief Operating Officer. Since joining the company in 1999, he has held a number of executive positions, including Group President for Paper Packaging, Land Management, and Global Sourcing and Supply Chain. He also served as Division President of Paper Packaging, and President of CorrChoice (a Greif division), and Vice President of Corrugated Operations.

Also elected officers are: Mark Sutton, Chairman & CEO, International Paper Company (first vice chair) and Mike Doss, President & CEO, Graphic Packaging International, Inc. (second vice chair). John Rooney, President & CEO, Evergreen Packaging LLC, and 2018 AF&PA Board Chair, will serve as Immediate Past Chair. 

Beginning new terms as AF&PA Board members in 2019 are: Craig Anneberg, CEO, North Pacific Paper Company, LLC; C. Anderson Bolton, President & CEO, PaperWorks Industries, Inc.; John Carpenter, President, Nippon Dynawave Packaging; Mark Gardner, President & CEO, Sappi North America; William E. Johnson, Jr., President, Johnson Timber Corporation and Yves Laflamme, President & CEO, Resolute Forest Products.

Greif Inc. President & CEO Pete Watson